Praying for the Guidance of the Spirit

Pardon for the late post but I have been trying to find my way back into my own life. I am sorry Aaron that I could not attend the writing session and thank you for sending me the writing prompts. I will try them out! Love your writings too; and they do reflect Jesus in your life!

I was introduced to this bible quote by Josephine and it has become my go-to quote when I am down and out which is “Let your good sense be obvious to everybody. The Lord is near”(Philippians 4:5) Indeed, Jesus is near and even though I may feel alone, I know that he always listens and I am still helping, still trying to do some good each day as a friend, son and sinner.

I have put aside everything to focus on my studies but I do not know whether it is enough as I thread through uncertainties. I know only Jesus can make it right as I cannot walk this path alone. It is a challenging time for me as I am devoid of any time to rest but I still pray and the previous week’s gospel has reminded me so.

In the gospel, “Jesus said to his disciples, when you pray, say: Father, hallowed  be your name, your kingdom come. Give us each day our daily bread and forgive us our sins for we ourselves forgive everyone in debt to us, and do not subject us to the final test”(Luke 11:1-13). 

This is the simplest of prayers, yet the most powerful because I grew up praying the Lord’s prayer every single day. The prayer has worked for me and I am grateful for the comforts that prayer has provided me. Life is a test and I hope that with forgiveness and prayer, things will be well again.

Jesus proceeded to tell a parable,“Suppose one of you has a friend to whom he goes at midnight and says,”Friend, lend me three loaves of bread, for a friend of mine has arrived at my house from a journey and I have nothing to offer him, and he says in reply from within,”Do not bother me; the door has already been locked and my children and I are already in bed. I cannot get up to give you anything”(Luke 11:1-13).  

When Jesus comes knocking at our door, do we open it? Jesus invites us by calling us his friend and he wishes to connect with us. But it can be just as easy to turn him away as we are caught up in our lives and comfort so that we do not get up to open the door. To me, the friendship that I want with Jesus is more than just passing; it is meant to be lasting till I leave this world. I want to be able to walk with Jesus to paradise by holding his hand and going with him as a friend.

“And I tell you, ask and you will receive; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives; and the one who seeks, finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened”(Luke 11:1-13). This describes one of my favourite bible verses and the way we should seek Jesus with humbleness and vulnerability in order to find peace and joy. I pray that the door will be open to me as I find my way towards the light and out of the darkness.

I find that I am unable to keep up with time and I am praying that the Spirit will guide me through the restless nights; when the mornings come even before I feel that I have rested well enough to face another day.

Through these posts, I hope that people continue to discover the power of prayer and I believe it will lead me towards what I seek – internal peace and joy. Only Jesus can provide men with the greatest reward which are the green pastures, restful waters and eternal light.

I would like to end this post with a praise and worship song,”Whom Shall I Fear” by Chris Tomlin for  there are always angels around me to lift me up when I have fallen so badly and deeply.You are always be my side, Jesus.

“You hear me when I call
You are my morning song
Though darkness fills the night
It cannot hide the light

Whom shall I fear

You crush the enemy
Underneath my feet
You are my sword and shield
Though troubles linger still

Whom shall I fear

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

The one who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

My strength is in your name
For you alone can save
You will deliver me
Yours is the victory

Whom shall I fear
Whom shall I fear

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

The one who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

And nothing formed against me shall stand
You hold the whole world in your hands
I’m holding on to your promises

You are faithful
You are faithful

Nothing formed against me shall stand
You hold the whole world in your hands
I’m holding on to your promises

You are faithful
You are faithful
You are faithful

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

The one who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind

The God of angel armies
is always by my side

The one who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine”

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

2 thoughts on “Praying for the Guidance of the Spirit

  1. Oh, so Aaron has done his duty and sent you the prompts. Just want to say that your writing sounds freer and more joyful! Do continue to post . . . . Thanks.

  2. thank you for sharing how prayer has been a constant (regardless of uncertainties) in your life . Will pray for you to hang on to this fidelity in Christ, and for wisdom and strength to continue guiding your thoughts as you journey through this challenging season of your life. Cheers Darren. Your writing never fails to inspire a more prayerful life in readers. or at least. one reader here 🙂

Leave a Reply

