An Undivided & Trustworthy Heart

 

Last week’s gospel reading spoke alot of truth to me as it reminded me to be truthful which is at times, easy, and at other times, not so easy. God’s word serves as a reminder that there is still enough time to repent and make amends.

The reading says,Jesus said to his disciples; “The person who is trustworthy in very small matters is also trustworthy in great ones; and the person who is dishonest in very small matters is also dishonest in great ones. If, therefore, you are not trustworthy with dishonest wealth, who will trust you with true wealth? (Luke 16:1-13).” Trust to me is a conscious decision because we know when we engage in deceptive acts and when we tell the truth. It is matter of guilt and freedom. If we are dishonest, the guilt will accumulate within us in one way or another. Sometimes, though, it can be easier to not tell the truth so as to avoid problems and conflict. Then it is best to keep mum!

I had just last semester taken a module on nonverbal communication which touched heavily on the concept of deception and truth-tellers. It showed me the destructiveness of deception and being dishonest. The grey area that comes in would be to intentionally lie in order to not upset a person. It depends on the situation as well but the gospel tells us to always try and choose truth.

The truth wealth that the gospel is telling us is the treasure of heaven which is our eternal salvation. Not even God can trust us with something so valuable if we cannot trust ourselves with the valuable things in our life. These items are our relationships with people, standing up for the truth and extending this goodwill of truthfulness to others.

The second passage of the reading says,If you are not trustworthy with what belongs to another, who will give you what is yours? No servant can serve two masters. He will either hate one and love the other, or to be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and mammon (Luke 16:1-13). We cannot serve both masters of lies and truth. The gospel is telling us to make the singular choice of serving only one master. Our hearts must never be undivided in speaking and emulating the truth in our lives.

Speaking the truth can result in hostility and unwelcome remarks which is clearly seen in Harper Lee’s novel of To Kill a Mockingbird. The book centers on the struggles of the town’s lawyer, Atticus Finch and his children. I studied the book for my literature class back in secondary school and it sits on my shelf till today. Atticus was tasked with the unpopular task of defending a black by the name of Tom Robinson. He had been accused of rape and the town soon started calling him a “nigger lover”. His children also bears the brunt of their father’s unpopularity due to him insisting on taking on the case.

Atticus still bravely defends Tom and when asked why, he said,”you never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view—until you climb around in his skin and walk around in it.” The novel is my all time favorite classic novel as I was tested for  it in my O levels.  More importantly, it showed the undividedness courage and truth that Atticus was willing to fight for and he even taught his two children values such as compassion over the course of the book.

In our own lives, we should be able to make the conscious note to fight for the truth, even though it might be the unpopular choice. We only have one master which is Jesus and when we stumble, we need to repent and seek a clean and honest heart.

Jesus is our only hope in the struggles that we face in the conflict of choices that we encounter. This song “I Lift up my Eyes” by Kutless will be my reminder for the week that I acknowledge Jesus as my master and that he is the way, the truth and the life!

God Bless! as we pray for one another to be honest to ourselves and never let our hearts be divided.

“I lift my eyes up, unto the mountains
where does my help come from?
My help comes from You, maker of heaven
creator of the earth

Oh how I need you Lord
You are my only hope
You’re my only prayer

so I will wait for You
to come and rescue me
to come and give me life” 

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

One thought on “An Undivided & Trustworthy Heart

  1. This piece has so many points for me! So grateful to have people trained to make peace, and I am grateful that many of you answer the call!

Leave a Reply

