The Towering Python

img-20160917-wa0007

“Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me, your rod and your staff, they comfort me (Psalm 23:4).”

Fear impedes me,

It is like a large dark cloud

Obstructing the moon light

And enveloping the surroundings in darkness

It makes everything seem more frightening

I have many fears and phobias

Fear of failing

Fear of not meeting expectations

Fear of letting people down

And these thoughts keep coming back

Despite my attempts to wall them off

In an attempt to stay positive

For the longest time,

Fear was a towering menace

Preventing me from doing so many things

Phobias of creepy crawlies, heights and snakes

Were things that could be conquered

But with fear,

I need the help of Jesus

When I feel fear,

I will say a silent prayer

To rationalize

Where is the fear coming from?

And why I am uncomfortable?

Then I place

The fear in the hands of Jesus

Sometimes,

Fear can be gateways

To new experiences

Sometimes,

It can be plucking up

The courage to catch a snake

And to release it back

To a safer place

And Jesus

Is the light in the

Darkest of valleys.

God be with you!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

One thought on “The Towering Python

Leave a Reply

