Jesus, Master! Have Pity on Us!

 

This week has been tough with so many things to do and yet so little time to meet expectations. My weekends are non-existent as I am either too worn out or preoccupied with school assignments. Many times, I have called out silently to Jesus to help me- Look at the state of things, I cannot do this alone as I have no more path left to walk.

This gospel shows Jesus entering a village and his meeting with ten lepers. “They stood at a distance from him and raised their voices,saying, “Jesus, Master! Have pity on us!”And when he saw them, he said,”Go show yourselves to the priests.”As they were going they were cleansed. And one of them, realizing he has been healed, returned,glorifying God in a loud voice; and he fell at the feet of Jesus and thanked him. He was a Samaritan. Jesus said in reply,”Ten were cleansed, were they not? Where are the other nine? Has none but this foreigner returned to give thanks to God?” Then he said to him,”Stand up and go; your faith has saved you (Luke 17:11-19).”

Today, many of us suffer from leprosy which is not in its biological form. We suffer from afflictions from sin and temptations. It scars us and leaves its mark on us. Avoidance of Jesus makes the leprosy even worse and it soon pushes Jesus away from us. Sometimes, Jesus might not provide us the answer that we want immediately but he will work in ways that we do not expect.

We deemed these works miracles that save us. But, in reality, it is Jesus who saves us. The miracle is an invitation for us by Jesus to realise that we need to do something positive in our life as part of a review, akin to a medical review. One of the lepers who was cured is the only one who throws himself at the feet of Jesus. This act is a way of complete surrender and gratitude for his request being granted.

Some might ask, does Jesus need our gratitude and thanks? The answer is no, he does not. But, he wants us to always live our lives with Jesus at the center of it. This is where we can have the faith to carry on with our lives. As I was reflecting on the gospel passage, I am reminded  not let our faith and trust in Jesus erode away in the face of trials and tribulations.

My mum would always enforce that we be grateful by saying “Thank you” and I now can see that being thankful gives way to humility, to know that the things that we receive are not our own entitlement. It can be a vocal appreciation of voicing our gratitude and the inner appreciation in our hearts when things go our way. At the end of the day, Jesus loves us and  his love is the only thing that matters.

And yes, at the end of life’s journey, I want to hear the words,”your faith has saved you.” It means that my physical tiredness is gone and that my soul has been healed and restored in communion with God. It must be a feeling of great joy and anticipation to be healed!

I pray that Jesus take pity on the world today as it is a hostile and unforgiving world that we live in, everyone has his own agenda and people take many things for granted. May He restore the lives of so many broken people and give compassion to areas in society that really need it.

I end this post with a praise and worship song by Hillsong titled, “You Alone are God“, that we never forget about the graces and gifts that we have received and that we are grateful, so very grateful to Jesus for them.

We remember the words of the second reading that we carry with us throughout this week,“If we have died with him,we shall also live with him; if we preserve we shall also reign with him. But if we deny him, he will deny us. If we are unfaithful, he remains faithful,for he cannot deny himself”(2 Timothy 2:8-13). Jesus, be by our side!

“I confess my hope
In the light of Your salvation
Where I lose myself
I will find You’re all I needSing my soul
Of the Savior’s love
Sing my soul
Unto God aloneI will meet You here
In the life we call surrender
Let the world I know
Be the glory of Your graceYou alone are God
You alone are God
We declare the glory of Your name

Reign in all the earth
Reign in all the earth Jesus”

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

One thought on “Jesus, Master! Have Pity on Us!

Leave a Reply

