Pray Without Becoming Weary

 

Last week was bad for me as my body just gave up on me; I fell ill- probably from the flu bug that is going around. It was my first time taking medical leave as an undergraduate and I was just sleeping and riding the illness out. I lost alot of time but perhaps, it was necessary for me to get more rest.

The gospel for last week’s readings was about Jesus telling his disciples a parable about the necessity to pray always without becoming weary. He said,”There was a judge in a certain town who neither feared God nor respected any human being. And a widow in that town used to come to him and say, “Render a just decision for me against my adversary.”For a long time the judge was unwilling, but eventually he thought,”While it is true that I neither fear God nor respect any human being, because this widow keeps bothering me, I shall deliver a just decision for her, lest she finally come and strike me”(Luke 18:1-8).

The example of the widow pestering the judge for legal recourse against her adversary is a clear link between our own prayer life, and when we pray with sincerity and meaning, our prayers are answered. Also, like the judge, our conscience would tell us that there is something not right in guiding the decisions that we make.

Jesus continues by saying,“The Lord said, “Pay attention to what the dishonest judge says. Will not God then secure the rights of his chosen ones who call out to him day and night? Will he be slow to answer them? I tell you, he will see to it that justice is done for them speedily. But when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on earth?”(Luke 18:1-8). 

God does answer our prayers, but he does it in his own time, sometimes in a special way that we least expect. He hears our prayers and if we continue to pray with faith, our intentions will be granted. There will still be faith if people continue to pray, believe and hope in the teachings of the Catholic Church and most of all, in our Lord Jesus.

A few weeks ago, I was looking at those pamphlets outside the adoration room in one of the churches, when I saw this prayer card dedicated to St Expeditus. He was a Roman martyr and his feast day is on 19 April. The prayer is for quick help or for an emergency.

A Prayer to St Expeditus

Saint Expeditus, you lay in rest. I come to you and ask that this wish be granted (state prayer intention).

Expedite now what I ask of you.

Expedite now what I want of you,

Expedite this very second.

Don’t waste another day.

Grant me what I ask for.

I know your power,

I know you because of your work.

I know you can help me.

Do this for me and my family and I will spread your name with love and honour, so that it will be invoked again and again. Expedite this wish with speed, love, honour and goodness, Glory to God for you, Dear Saint Expeditus! In the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. Amen. Saint Expeditus. May I receiver your blessings and favours. Amen. 

Dear readers, I need your help- as part of my school project and course requirement, my class is embarking on a social cause project for the villagers in Dolakha, Nepal to raise some funds for them. More information can be found in the description below.

#PassItOnForNepal: We are a group of 4 undergraduate students from the University at Buffalo who are raising funds for Dolakha, Nepal. This is part of our module requirements which is small group communication and for a class project. The objective of the project is to raise funds to equip the villages in Dolakha with proper schools in educating the children and rebuilding community dwellings.

The area of Dolakha was devastated by the earthquake in 2015 which killed 9,000 people and injured another 22,000.  Our objective of the fundraiser is to raise enough funds to help improve their basic educational needs and sanitation systems. The area is also left without clean running water and electricity.  We hope that with your kind generosity, these villagers will be given the resources that they need to rebuild their lives and to give them the courage to start anew. We want to see the children’s faces light up with smiles and for them to dream big in having education through the new schools that will be built for them.

No amount is too small or big and the fundraising links can be found here: https://www.generosity.com/community-fundraising/sim-ub-nepal-earthquake-relief-campaign-2016—2 & https://give.asia/movement/sim-ub_nepal_earthquake_relief_campaign_2016

Thank you once again for your kindness and do pass this message on to your friends and family in helping us to raise awareness of their plight.

God Bless! and always know that everyone is fighting a battle that we know nothing about. Be kind and help another!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

 

One thought on “Pray Without Becoming Weary

  1. Here we are and there you are . . . I got 9k for the children in Thailand. I hope you get much more. All for a good cause!

Leave a Reply

