By Your Perseverance You will Secure Your Lives

 

For many centuries, people have been obsessed with doomsday prophecies in predicting the actual day of the end of the world. It is a topic that readily comes up in the media to know the exact day and time. But even Jesus does not know the exact time nor day as only God the Father knows when the earth will end. Today’s gospel puts the end times into perspective again.

The gospel starts by saying,While some people were speaking about how the temple was adorned with costly stones and votive offerings, Jesus said,”All that you see here- the days will come when there will not be left a stone upon another stone that will not be thrown down”(Luke 21:5-19). In life, we always compare our wealth, knowledge and material items with the people around us. These become our “temples” that we build, just like those in Egypt. It becomes an accumulation of these stones that we show off to people and soon we lose sight of the actual temple – heaven and Jesus. At the end of our lives, it does not matter how much material wealth or knowledge that we possess, it is about us as persons, and if we have shared the Good News (Jesus) with others?

“Then they asked him,”Teacher, when will this happen? And what sign will there be when all these things are about to happen?” He answered, “See that you not be deceived, for many will come in my name, saying, “I am he”, and “The time has come.” Do not follow them! When you hear of war and insurrections, do not be terrified; for such things must happen first, but it will not immediately be the end.”Then he said to them,”Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be powerful earthquakes, famines and plagues from place to place; and awesome sights and mighty signs will come from the sky”(Lk 21:5-19)

Fear is something that robs or impedes a person. In the time of Jesus and even now, there are wars, tension and natural disasters. But the end is not anytime soon according to Jesus. Rather, we must know how to respond to these signs and more importantly to ask Jesus to help us make sense of these happenings around us. There will be signs, but we must be steadfast in faith and with Jesus, we can overcome these adversities.

“Before all this happens,however, they will seize and persecute you, they will hand you over to the synagogues and to prisons, and they will have you led before kings and governors because of my name. It will lead you your giving testimony. Remember, you are not to prepare your defense beforehand, for I myself shall give you a wisdom in speaking that all your adversaries will be powerless to resist or refute. You will even be handed over by your parents, brothers, relatives and friends, and they will put some of you to death.You will be hated by all because of my name, but not a hair on your head will be destroyed. By your perseverance you will secure your lives”(Luke 21:5-19). 

I have the feeling that everyone is against me many times as in everything I do, people would disagree or have something else to voice out even when I put in much effort. It is like being pushed to a corner and I dislike that thought. But I still carry on because people will always seize my ideas, speak against me and offend me. I take it in my stride and am still learning to do so.

Perseverance is something that I have been praying about for this month. It is to persevere against procrastination and tiredness which leaves me more worn out and at times on the verge of giving up. My prayers have been more of cries of help and I am breaking down on the inside. I still hold on to the hope of being happy and free again by praying to Jesus to walk with me so that I do not feel alone. May the Holy Spirit guide me in being patient and continue to take up the cross of life each day.

Time has passed fast and this month is the opening mass of the Cathedral of the Good Shepherd. Soon, Novena Church and the Church of Transfiguration will be completed, almost like in the blink of an eye in God’s time. We pray that everything goes smoothly and more people will know Jesus through the developments around the archdiocese.

We continue to pray for Pope Francis’ intentions for the month of November,“That the countries which take in a great number of displaced persons and refugees may find support for their efforts which show solidarity. That within parishes, priests and lay people may collaborate in service to the community without giving in to the temptation of discouragement.”

I would like to end this post with a praise and worship song”Closer” by Bethel Live.

“Your love has ravished my heart
And taken me over, taken me over
And all I want is to be
With You forever, with You forever

Pull me a little closer
Take me a little deeper
I want to know Your heart
I want to know Your heart
`Cause Your love is so much sweeter
Than anything I’ve tasted
I want to know Your heart
I want to know Your heart

Whoa, whoa, how great Your love is for me
Whoa, whoa, how great is Your love

Pull me a little closer
Take me a little deeper
I want to know Your heart
I want to know Your heart
Your love is so much stronger
Than anything I’ve faced and
I want to know Your heart
I want to know Your heart”

Dear Lord, you know my fears; help me to persevere and keep loving me as your son, even when I do not feel loved by the people around me or feel unworthy of being loved. God Bless!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a Reply

