Advent Joy: He will Prepare Your Way before You…

 

This post has been delayed due to me finishing up some loose ends of my university commitments. I have much to be grateful for as I plan for my career before graduation and equip myself with the necessary skills through resources that the university has kindly provided. However, I am always grateful to Jesus and the Holy Spirit for guiding me constantly that I always reminded to pray before making any major decisions.

The gospel reading begins by,“When John the Baptist heard in prison of the works of the Christ, he sent his disciples to Jesus with the question, “Are you the one who is to come, or should we look for another?”Jesus said to them in reply,”Go and tell John what you hear and see: the blind regain their sight, the lame walk, lepers are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the poor have the good news proclaimed to them. And blessed is the one who takes no offense at me.”

As they were going off, Jesus begin to speak to the crowds about John,”What did you go out to the desert to see? A reed swayed by the wind? Then what did you go out to see? Someone dressed in fine clothing? Those who wear fine clothing are in royal palaces. Then why did you go out? To see a prophet? Yes, I tell you, and more than a prophet. This is the one about whom it is written: Behold, I am sending my messenger ahead of you: he will prepare your way before you. Amen, I say to you, among those born of women there has been none greater than John the Baptist; yet the least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he (Matthew 11:2-11).”

The week is also known as Gaudete Sunday where the Church looks forward to the coming of Jesus with Joy as Christmas draws near. Are we anticipating the joy and goodness of Jesus this Christmas? Even shopping malls and commercial establishments are celebrating the season of Joy by using special decorations and playing Christmas carols to usher in the joyous mood of celebration.

Even when John the Baptist was in prison where it was certainly not the most comfortable of places to be in, he still remembered Jesus and tells us to be witnesses of the goodness and grace of Jesus. He has come to save us from sin and darkness but first we must follow him as his disciples. Despite being persecuted, John the Baptist still perseveres in speaking the truth and even proclaiming the good news in prison.

There is always something holding me back in experiencing Joy. Most of the time it is unfinished business at the back of my mind such as school, future plans and the list goes on and on. Even when I am on vacation, I am unable to enjoy fully because my mind is always thinking of what to do next and living in the moment becomes hard to do. However, I trust that given due time, Jesus will always make a way or a plan for me. Therefore, I should trust that in His own time and will, things will come into fruition. We are all His beloved sons and daughters and He will provide as He always does.

For He knows the deepest desires and feelings of our heart such as our goals, worries and aspirations. All we need to do is to pray, discern and give thanks for Jesus has promised that He will make a path and a way where He will walk us home this Christmas to a place of warmth, comfort and security.

I would like to end this post with a praise and worship song called “Leave Me Astounded” by the Planet-shakers.  Jesus has surprised me again and again with His goodness and love that I can put my worries and burdens at the bottom of the cross and experience freedom and happiness in the moment. Amen!

“All my hands have made I’m laying down
All that I hold dear, my many crowns
I’ve tasted and seen of Your great love
You satisfy me
You satisfy me

Spirit fall, open up heaven’s door
We’re waiting with worship for more
You’re the only love that satisfies me

My constant request above all things
Every hour I wake, be near me, oh God
Though I’ve tasted and seen of Your great love
Show me Your glory
Show me Your glory

Spirit fall, open up heaven’s door
We’re waiting with worship for more
You’re the only love that satisfies me
Lord we run into Your loving arms
We’re safe and secure in Your love
You’re the only love that satisfies me

Leave me astounded, leave me amazed
Show off Your glory, let heaven invade
We’re waiting with worship, we’re waiting with praise
For the almighty presence of God to invade

Spirit fall, open up heaven’s door
We’re waiting with worship for more
You’re the only love that satisfies me
Lord we run into Your loving arms
We’re safe and secure in Your love
You’re the only love that satisfies me

Leave me astounded, leave me amazed
Show off Your glory, let heaven invade
We’re waiting with worship, we’re waiting with praise
For the almighty presence of God to invade”

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a Reply

