The Transfiguration & Transformation

 

The lights in our room, sometimes, are taken for granted. We take these things for granted and only after they are gone do we begin to treasure it a little more. Sunlight is also essential for the survival of life; without it, life would cease to exist. Jesus is also our Light in the second Sunday of Lent where we see Him being transfigured in the sight of his disciples.

The gospel begins by saying,Jesus took Peter, James and John and his brother, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. And he was transfigured before them, his face shone like the sun and his clothes become white as light. And behold, Moses and Elijah appeared to them, conversing with him. Then Peter said to Jesus in reply, “Lord, it is good that we are here. If you wish, I will make three tents here, one for you, one for Moses and one for Elijah.” While he was speaking, behold, a bright cloud cast a shadow over them, then from the cloud came a voice that said,”This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.”

“When the disciples heard this, they fell prostrate and were very much afraid, But Jesus came and touched them, saying,”Rise, and do not be afraid.”And when the disciples raised their eyes, they saw no one else but Jesus alone (Matthew 17:1-9).

Jesus asks us to make the journey with Him up the high mountain to spend time with Him in this Lenten season. For there will  He show Himself in his  true glory and point us in the right direction. He is like the compass which guides the trekker to the clearing at the end of the forest trail. Without the compass or map, the trekker would be lost in the dense forest.

The transfiguration of Jesus is definitely not a magic show to display His might or splendour as the Saviour but asks us to be spiritually awake and get going so as to take action this Lent. Are we spiritually awake to witness and be aware to take the first step in transforming our own lives first before being the light that transforms others?

It is not enough to just bask in the glory of God but to listen to His voice in the quietness of our hearts. Sometimes,having some time alone and having  quiet time is important; it is always necessary to take time and be with God. I always picture myself sitting somewhere high up facing a scenic view of the wilderness with a cool breeze that blows through the trees. I hope to be able to see this view someday. I am so weary but I cling on to the hope that it gets better.

For now, I have to contend with the daily grind of life and find Jesus in various aspects of it all. I pray for the patience and a teachable heart to transform parts of me and also of others in this Lenten season as the Light of Christ continues to shine through the people around us. Amen.

May we continue to be grateful for our blessings that come our way and may God continue to bless our Holy Father, Pope Francis on the occasion of the 4th anniversary of his election on 13 March 2013. Also that persecuted Christians may be supported by prayers and material help of the whole church.

I would like to end this post with a slower rendition of “Amazing Grace” by Karliene and of all the versions, I like this one so far because I can listen to clearly to the lyrics, making it more meaningful to me. This is one of my favorite hymns.

“Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now I’m found,
Was blind, but now I see.

’twas Grace that taught,
my heart to fear.
And grace, my fears relieved.
How precious did that grace appear,
the hour I first believed.

Through many dangers, toils and snares,
I have already come.
’tis grace that brought me safe thus far,

and grace will lead us home.1

The Lord has promised good to me,
His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be,
as long as life endures.

When we’ve been there ten thousand years,
bright shining as the sun.
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise,
than when we first begun.

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now… I see”

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a Reply

