Worth-More or Worthless?

 

The Great Divide. As I turn the pages of the daily papers, I noticed that there is a new divide brewing within the context of society. Countries, figures of authority and people remain divided over issues, and some choose to co-operate, while others choose to divide people based on their own agenda or beliefs. I begin to wonder in the midst of this all, what is the worth of our humanity? Is simple conscience and the ability to differentiate between right and wrong gone?

The gospel begins by saying, “Jesus said to the Twelve:”Fear no one. Nothing is concealed that will not be revealed,nor secret that will not be known. What I say to you in the darkness, speak in the light; what you hear whispered, proclaim on the housetops. And do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul; rather, be afraid of the one who can destroy both soul and body in Gehenna. Are not two sparrows sold for a small coin?

“Yet not one of them falls to the ground without your Father’s knowledge. Even all the hairs of your head are counted. So do not be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. Everyone who acknowledges me before others I will acknowledge before my heavenly Father. But whoever denies me before others, I will deny before my heavenly Father (Matthew 10:26-33).” 

In this time and age where societal thinking and norms start to blur between the lines, it is important to continue to stay true to the teachings of the Church, for we must not be led astray, but to move towards the light, for it is where we hear God’s voice.

Be grateful for things that turn out well, and God can certainly surprise us, yet the father knows our needs and wants; he also knows our shortcomings and feelings of hopelessness. He challenges us to proclaim all that is positive and good to the people around us, to speak in the light and shout the many blessings received from the highest rooftops.

Though we might falter, Jesus tells us not to be afraid for though we are laden with sin, we are still worth more and so much more. However, society tells us otherwise. For me, people tell me otherwise and that leaves everything worthless, and it seems all the achievements are unable to match up to people’s expectations. It is  like a cycle and it gets repeated from time to time.

As I approach graduation ceremony, I have begun evaluating what is left of my remaining days as an undergraduate before I officially become a graduate. Did I do enough in my time as a student? Did I make full use of all the opportunities? Probably I did and I tried even if I might not be always successful all the time.

Then, there is the big question,”Will my parents be happy and proud?”, “Could I have done better?” Well, the truth is I do not know. People have many definitions of success, and some would require the best academic results to quantify having made it in terms of the hallmark of a graduate. I fear, and I also fear not because of not what I have done, but if what I had done is enough? It can be difficult to live up to people’s expectations. My expectation is simple, and I just do my best and leave the rest to God’s will. It seems easy but when you look around, and see others who are of a certain standard, it makes me wonder, am I worth less than them?

It can be so tiring and draining that it is like running a never-ending race.  I always have to keep looking over my shoulder, afraid that if I do not take up this opportunity, others will catch up with me. It is that competitive, and sadly, that is the way of the world now for the young. My heart sinks whenever I get compared with  such remarks as “Oh my results are that high;  how about yours?” I try to push these thoughts away, and try to pick myself up.

Listening to the gospel, I really liked the phrase,”So do not be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” It is so reassuring, and it shows how much Jesus treasures us. He provides for the sparrows for I can see them in the gardens where they fly among the trees, and they are provided for. I know I have been blessed for the opportunities that come my way, but I am still afraid, still cautious too as I guess I am afraid of being a letdown to the people around me.

Dear Jesus, you know each of our fears and worries, comfort us in our time of uncertainty and diverse societal norms, for things are more complex now, as with the rising standards in education and social class, it can be difficult to know that we are worth so much more to You, than to society, our family,friends and the people around us. Help me always find You in these times and when I doubt You, reassure me that everything will be all right in the end. I pray that You will grant me a happy and peaceful graduation ceremony next month. I am doing so much to secure a better future and please give me the courage to be happy and not be overly overwhelmed, but for me to stop always looking over my shoulder.

I was listening to the radio while eating my lunch and the song that was playing was by Alanis Morissette which was titled,”Hand in my pocket” I really like this 90s song which I grew up listening to, and it brings to light the simplicity of life to stay happy despite all the pressures of the world. God Bless and I am grateful for the extra day this weekend!

“I’m broke but I’m happy
I’m poor but I’m kind
I’m short but I’m healthy, yeah
I’m high but I’m grounded
I’m sane but I’m overwhelmed
I’m lost but I’m hopeful baby
What it all comes down to
Is that everything’s gonna be fine fine fine
’cause I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is giving a high five
I feel drunk but I’m sober
I’m young and I’m underpaid
I’m tired but I’m working, yeah
I care but I’m restless
I’m here but I’m really gone
I’m wrong and I’m sorry baby

What it all comes down to
Is that everything’s gonna be quite alright
’cause I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is flicking a cigarette
And what it all comes down to
Is that I haven’t got it all figured out just yet
’cause I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is giving the peace sign
I’m free but I’m focused
I’m green but I’m wise
I’m hard but I’m friendly baby
I’m sad but I’m laughing
I’m brave but I’m chickenshit
I’m sick but I’m pretty baby

And what it all boils down to
Is that no one’s really got it figured out just yet
’cause I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is playing the piano
And what it all comes down to my friends
Is that everything’s just fine fine fine
’cause I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is hailing a taxi cab”

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

One thought on “Worth-More or Worthless?

  1. You are honest to yourself, and that is good. However, there is no need to be overly concerned. The other day I was sharing with a friend that at the end of it all, our citizenship is in Heaven. We are pilgrims on the way, are we not?

Leave a Reply

