Bible Sunday: Light & Easy

 

Overburdened. Things are ramping up in the workplace as more work starts coming in and sometimes, it leaves everyone, including myself scrambling to complete and meet all the stipulated deadlines. Tensions are running high as it is a rush to ensure that everything is running smoothly. In all of our burdens, we must not forget that Jesus is at the centre of it and He is always there for us, so that we do not get to carry all of the burdens on our own.

The gospel begins by saying, “At that time Jesus exclaimed: “I give praise to you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth,for although you have hidden these things from the wise and the learned you have revealed them to little ones.Yes, Father, such has been your gracious will.

“All things have been handed over to me by my Father. No one knows the Son except the Father,and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son wishes to reveal him.”

“Come to me, all you who labour and are burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden light”(Matthew 11:25-30).”

This is one of my favourite gospel’s passages as it highlights the struggles of humanity, where we are called to carry our crosses but are swarmed with all sorts of burdens and trials. Many by far have tried to comprehend the existence of God intellectually and scientifically. They have consulted numerous books, tried to challenge the bible and conducted research on religious artefacts pertaining to the Catholic Church.

However, their findings have proven inconclusive because just like the Trinity, some things are left a mystery which the human mind is unable to comprehend or understand. Just like children, when we surrender ourselves to faith, we will find the answers that we are looking for through the revelation in the image and presence of Jesus.

Jesus then invites us to come to Him if we are burdened, as it is with Him that we will find rest. Rest is really so precious to me and as much as I try to rest more on weekends. Sometimes, there is just too much work to do that I need to find the motivation in me to get going, before I can contemplate resting.

The promise of Jesus is that His yoke is easy and He will make our burdens light as I learn to lean on the cross for some semblance of support and comfort when the going gets tough. At times, I say a little prayer before I start a task because I cannot do it myself and I need Jesus to guide me as all glory and success comes from Him.

For me, He is the provider and He sends people to help me when my to-do-list gets challenging as many hands make light work. Time to time, I flip through the bible as I find the book of Psalms inspiring and yet comforting at the same time. The words are light and easy- a source of strength and anchor for me. The bible allows me to know God as a person, and it provides clarity when we see the connection to our lives by identifying with the characters and words in the passages which is our source of spiritual nourishment.

The only time I have experienced this surreal feeling of light and easy mood would be going on a holiday and it was after polytechnic graduation when I went on a trip to Perth, Western Australia. I was just grateful to experience pure rest when time slowed down slightly. There were no assignments nor work and I could just soak in the sights and sounds of my surroundings. I felt in control and was more focussed because it was just pure relaxation and you learn to appreciate nature up close and in different ways that you never thought possible.

I hope to be able to pause and relax someday again, even though it is hard to come by, I can picture it in my mind and it is where I can go to whenever I feel myself losing momentum. Also, learning to laugh a little, smile a little and talk to people in knowing that you are not alone in your struggles also uplifts the mood on this journey towards finding rest for ourselves.

May we make a mental note to read scripture because it speaks so much truth and the passages are highly relatable, and it may make our toughest moments a little lighter, a little more peaceful.

I close this post with a song titled,”Perth” by Bon Iver because it is reminiscent of times spent on vacation overseas and loving nature when I am most at peace. God Bless as we keep one another in prayers.

“I’m tearing up, across your face
Move dust through the light
To find your name
It’s something faint
This is not a place
Not yet awake, I’m raised to make

Still alive who you, love
Still alive who you, love
Still alive who you, love

In a matter of an month
From forests for the soft
Gotta know been lead aloft
So I’m ridding all your stories
What I know, what it is, is boring, wire it up!
You’re breaking your ground”

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a Reply

