Rich Soil Yields a Plentiful Harvest

 

Price to Pay. I feel that I am left in a stupor after working so hard that my mind just keeps going like clockwork. Sometimes, it can be challenging to put in the same amount of effort everyday as it is like a jukebox theory where people select the song and shuffles through the playlist in finding that perfect rhythm or song that will suit their taste. It is the price to pay if you want to earn a living, I guess, and more so in this challenging era. The only thing that I have left is endurance and to hold on even if it is the hardest thing to do.

The gospel opens by saying,“On that day, Jesus went out of the house and sat down by the sea. Such large crowds gathered around him that he got into a boat and sat down, and the whole crowd stood along the shore. And he spoke to them at length in parables, saying: “A sower went out to sow. And as he sowed, some seed fell on the path,and birds came and ate it up. Some fell on rocky ground, where it had little soil. It sprang up at once because the soil was not deep, and when the sun rose it was scorched,and it withered for lack of roots. Some seed fell among thorns, and the thorns grew up and choked it. But some seed fell on rich soil and produced fruit, a hundred or sixty or thirtyfold. Whoever has ears ought to hear (Matthew 13:1-9).”

This is one of my favorite gospel passages as I just like how the sower is depicted as God and his gift of free will. He does not keep the good news to Himself but chooses to scatter them freely and abundantly. It is up to us to cultivate the seed by using good and fertile soil which would yield good crops or beautiful plants.

My earliest cultivation of the word of God would be through catechism class and also how I would flip through the catechism book beforehand to look at stories that showed the word of God in action. It intrigued me to look at how God was sowing the seeds and how people were responding to it by nurturing the seed.

It is our inner desire that best represents the type of soil or spiritual state that we are in. I have been in the category of the bad soil recently as my worries and demands of the world crept into me that God has forsaken me. I know this is not true but it is a great struggle that many are facing daily, including myself.

Like a plant, hard soil does not yield growth nor does poor soil, therefore we need to take efforts to cultivate and nurture the soil by changing and loosening them. This can be achieved through quiet reflection and reconciliation on the word of God who is the sower. Are we taking the initiative to make the word of God alive and present in our lives today?

Patience and perseverance are key components in not giving up which is something that I have been repeating to myself in my subconscious to keep myself going. I pray that despite all the fears and obstacles, Jesus can lead me away from these inner pain at least temporarily so I can come back stronger and more refreshed. I hope to find some peace and not be crippled by fear that weighs me down.

Writing has been therapeutic for me as I can put my thoughts into words and though it can be challenging to find the right words – seeking the kingdom of God, there I will find whatever I am looking for which is peace,freedom and joy. One day,I know that I will meet the sower and be held in His embrace, to know that I am loved by Him. We keep each other in prayers and for those who are suffering to find comfort and consolation in God’s word and the presence of their loved ones.

For the seed that falls on good ground will yield a fruitful harvest.God Bless!

Music speaks to people and through this song “Fear” by Blue October, it chronicles the struggle of the songwriter and how he gets back up despite life’s challenges.

“All my life
Been running from a pain in me
A feeling I don’t understand
Holding me down

Rain on me
Underwater
All I am, getting harder
A heavy weight
I carry around.

Today
I don’t have to fall apart
I don’t have to be afraid
I don’t have to let the damage
consume me,
My shadow see through me

Fear in itself
Will reel you in and spit you out
Over and over again
Believe in yourself
And you will walk
Fear in itself
Will use you up and break you down
like you were never enough
I used to fall, now I get back up.

I’m up here
I’m looking at the way down there
I’m staring through the I don’t care
It’s staring back at me

The beauty is
I’m learning how to face my beast
Starting now to find some peace
Set myself free

Today,
I don’t have to fall apart
I don’t have to be afraid
I don’t have to let the damage
consume me,
My shadow see through me

Fear in itself
Will reel you in
And spit you out over and over again
Believe in yourself
and you will walk
Fear in itself
Will use you up and break you down
like you were never enough
I used to fall but now I get back up

I’m moving on
Oh god just move on
Today,
I don’t have to fall apart
I don’t have to be afraid….
Get back up
Get up

Fear in itself will use you up
And break you down just like you’re
never enough
I used to fall

Breathe,
Ask for more
if you’re bitter still
Ask him to help you carry on.”

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a Reply

