The Weeds Among The Seeds

Wrapping Up. At the graduation, it was a surreal experience being conferred all the rights of being a graduate. However, it opens new and uncertain paths which is to not remain unemployed for too long. I am grateful for the opportunities and people that have been with me on this journey, and especially God for without Him, I would not have made it this far.

Physically, I felt relieved but in my mind, my thoughts were clouded because I have not gotten down to take a breather and get back on track. I am trying to clear as much current work as possible before making any further plans.

The gospel opens by saying,Jesus proposed another parable to the crowds, saying: “The kingdom of heaven may be likened to a man who sowed good seed in his field. While everyone was asleep his enemy came and sowed weeds all through the wheat, and then went off. When the crop grew and bore fruit, the weeds appeared as well. The slaves of the householder came to him and said,’Master, did you not sow good seed in your field? Where have the weeds come from?

He answered, ‘An enemy has done this.’ His slaves said to him, ‘Do you want us to go and pull them up?’He replied, ‘No, if you pull up the weeds you might uproot the wheat along with them.  Let them grow together until harvest; then at harvest time I will say to the harvesters,”First collect the weeds and tie them in bundles for burning; but gather the wheat into my barn (Matthew 13:24-30).”

The kingdom of heaven is a promise given to us by Jesus that if we start planning to receive the kingdom now- we will surely receive it. This is provided that we start sowing good seed in our lives. Sowing also means having the patience to cultivate it, just like how the sower stops the slaves from pulling out the weeds that have grown with the seeds.

Sin is the representation of the weeds, just like an overgrown garden, it is unsightly, and it stops the good plants from growing. We too, need to weed out sin just as every good gardener would do; it is an everyday process of pulling the weeds out in ensuring healthy growth of the plants.

A well-kept heart and mind, just like a well-maintained garden, shows our sincerity and determination in ensuring that we stay close to Jesus. Another reality that the gospel speaks of would be that good (harvest) and evil (weeds) could co-exist together. This means it might be harder for us to differentiate between the good and bad, and the line can sometimes be blurred.

In light of all the chaos in the world, the unspoken words and thoughts in our minds and the worries that keep us awake at night, we have to try and always get back up when the going gets tough as we try to stay afloat in the vast ocean of life; and we are to help others even while we help ourselves.

We pray for the strength to continue braving through the storms, to spend more time focusing our own well-being and being there for others in their greatest need. And of course,  to rely on Jesus to keep maintaining the garden in our hearts and minds, so that the harvest will be rich and plentiful when we meet Him. God Bless!

I would like to close this post with a song “Leave Out All The Rest” as a tribute to the late Chester Bennington of rock band, Linkin Park whose songs I listened to as a teenager growing up. It is dedicated to those that have lost a loved one and for those to stand in solidarity to raise awareness on mental health awareness and care for those struggling silently, that there is hope and many are still rooting for them.

“I dreamed I was missing
You were so scared
But no one would listen
‘Cause no one else cared

After my dreaming
I woke with this fear
What am I leaving
When I’m done here?

So if you’re asking me
I want you to know

When my time comes
Forget the wrong that I’ve done
Help me leave behind some
Reasons to be missed
And don’t resent me
And when you’re feeling empty
Keep me in your memory
Leave out all the rest
Leave out all the rest

Don’t be afraid
I’ve taken my beating
I’ve shared what I’ve made
I’m strong on the surface
Not all the way through
I’ve never been perfect
But neither have you

So if you’re asking me
I want you to know

When my time comes
Forget the wrong that I’ve done
Help me leave behind some
Reasons to be missed
Don’t resent me
And when you’re feeling empty
Keep me in your memory
Leave out all the rest
Leave out all the rest

Forgetting all the hurt inside
You’ve learned to hide so well
Pretending someone else can come
And save me from myself
I can’t be who you are

When my time comes
Forget the wrong that I’ve done
Help me leave behind some
Reasons to be missed
Don’t resent me
And when you’re feeling empty
Keep me in your memory
Leave out all the rest
Leave out all the rest

Forgetting all the hurt inside
You’ve learned to hide so well
Pretending someone else can come
And save me from myself
I can’t be who you are
I can’t be who you are” 

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

One thought on “The Weeds Among The Seeds

Leave a Reply

