Christ The King: Recognising Christ in Our Lives

 

Finding Respite. It is the end of the liturgical year as we move towards the season of advent. Also with Christmas just around the corner, it seems that we are winding down as the year comes to a close and spending time to soak in the festivities. On the other hand, I have been trying to find respite amidst work, like taking shelter when a storm arrives and trying to find a safe harbour to continue going, to continue pushing on. We all need to keep everyone in prayers for they offer respite when the going gets tough and we can be there for those that need us the most-the people closest to us in our hearts.

The gospel opens by saying, “Jesus said to his disciples: “When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit upon his glorious throne, and all the nations will be assembled before him. 

And he will separate them one from another, as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will place the sheep on his right and the goats on his left. Then the king will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father. Inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. 

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, a stranger and you welcomed me, naked and you clothed me, ill and you cared for me,in prison and you visited me. Then the righteous will answer him and say, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? When did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? 

When did we see you ill or in prison, and visit you?’ And the king will say to them in reply, ‘Amen, I say to you, whatever you did for one of the least brothers of mine, you did for me.’ Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you accursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.

For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, a stranger and you gave me no welcome, naked and you gave me no clothing, ill and in prison, and you did not care for me.’

Then they will answer and say, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty
or a stranger or naked or ill or in prison, and not minister to your needs?’ He will answer them, ‘Amen, I say to you, what you did not do for one of these least ones,
you did not do for me.’And these will go off to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life (Matthew 25:31-46).”

The gospel serves as a reminder for us to seek forgiveness and repentance as it offers a glimpse of what will happen when Jesus comes and separates the good from the bad. It is easy to pass through the daily routine of life that we can become numb to those around us. Are we able to recognise the presence of Jesus in our midst?

Most of the time, the choices that we make will influence the outcome of situations and we are called to look after those that have lesser than us- through that we are able to find Jesus because there are many people out there who are struggling in some way or another from poverty, unemployment, illness or who are just lost in life. We can choose to be with them and lend them a listening ear to do something to provide them some respite or at least point them in the right direction.

We are called to try and journey with those in society who have lesser than us and through that experience, there will be a stirring in our hearts that perhaps we can do more and there is always room to do more and that is how we can recognise the face of Jesus present in common men.

It brings back memories of mission trips and local community projects where though the logistics or commitment might be huge, but to see the smiles and the final outcome of how we can impact someone’s life for the better, the positivity that fills the room and the smile on the other person’s face- that is true happiness and joy present.

I kind of miss all that but I think there will be opportunities (who knows?) down the line for me to experience all that again. We can be contented with our lives, but then it will turn our hearts cold and indifferent and it will make us more disillusioned. This is because we are always chasing our own individual success and trying to write our own success story that we forget to find Jesus- only he can provide us true happiness, joy and peace. Are we looking for him in the right places?

Let us remember that Jesus gave his life so that we can find new life through his death and resurrection. He recognizes those that are suffering and are facing oppression from society. Rather than being powerful as king, he is willing to sacrifice everything to become a man.

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, a stranger and you welcomed me, naked and you clothed me, ill and you cared for me,in prison and you visited me.

Let us continue to try and reach out to our brothers and sisters in society who are finding difficulty in their situations and to give them hope that there are people out there who care, to do what we can in our capacity to provide them a listening ear and to have a conversation so that we can understand their needs better.

Because we all can be that one more light to the person or people beside us. God Bless!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a comment